Lemon and Honey

If you ever go missing

or choose to leave us

I will tell our daughter that I am the roots and branches of her family tree

that you were the fruits and blossoms of her family tree

I am everything sturdy, you were everything beautiful

 

I will tell her that every beautiful thing has a season

and not to be mad at you

you were only doing what beautiful things are meant to do

 

I will tell our daughter

about the day I squeezed lemon juice onto her tongue at our kitchen table

and how you drenched your smallest finger in honey to coat her mouth

because, you told me as I laughed,

you did not want her taste buds to grow accustom to bitter things

 

If a woman from your past

ever comes to steal you from us

I will push my palms against her throat

her throat against her spine

her spine against the wall

and I will tell her, “over my dead fucking body”

and I will tell her, “get away from my family”

 

I will grab our daughter from the kitchen table

away from the lemon rind

away from the honey jar

 

I will tell our daughter that every bitter thing has a reason

and not to be mad at her

that woman was only doing what bitter things are meant to do

 

I will tell our daughter

that lemon and honey

are to be tasted together

in the summer season

for no reason at all

Leave a Reply

